top of page

10 book to movie adaptations worth the watch...

Summer is a time when new movies seem to be released every week and a lot of them are based on films. While most book to movie adaptions fail miserably and leave fandoms in an uproar, there have been a few that were actually impressive.

*in my opinion, but in no particular order*

Here are ten book to movie adaptations actually worth the watch:

  1. The Outsiders - the novel set in the 1960s comes to life with an all-star 1980s cast. Have your tissues handy.

  2. The Fault in our Stars - I persuaded my mom to see this movie with me. She said she'd go, but would probably fall asleep. Not only did she stay awake during the entire movie, but I think she may have cried more than me.

  3. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire - I admit with no shame that I saw this movie (which is well over 2 hours long) twice while it was in theaters and I've watched it at home countless times since.

  4. The Perks of Being a Wallflower - this movie... every teen (especially the angsty ones) should see this movie. This film even inspired me to find my own "pen pal" because sometimes you just need someone to talk to.

  5. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban - technically, the Goblet of Fire is my favorite book in the series, but Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite movie. While it isn't a perfect adaptation of the book (none of the films on this list are), it is still wonderful and includes the important stuff (like page 394).

  6. To All the Boys I've Loved Before - it is rare for me to like the movie adaptation more than the original book, but I liked this movie adaptation way more than the original book. The cinematography, the dialogue, the character behavior shifts... I loved it.

  7. Divergent - this movie is included because the acting was pretty good (Shailene Woodley is included multiple times on this list for a reason) and the sentiment of the movie was present and palatable and great. But please, only watch this one. The other movies in the series just.... no.

  8. Love, Simon - though I had questions regarding certain casting choices, this movie was still so cute and I enjoyed it a lot.

  9. If Beale Street Could Talk - I love when films can film black people correctly and this movie does that and more. The story, the acting, the message, the CINEMATOGRAPHY... beautiful.

  10. Eat, Pray, Love - I needed a 10th for the list and even though I have not seen this movie in years, I vividly remember enjoying it and it festering my want to learn Italian (which came in handy when I moved to Florence a few years later).



There are probably many more out there, but I just wanted to list the book to movie adaptations where I've actually read the books to compare accurately. There are more book to movie and book to tv adaptations to come (some I'm more worried about than others) and I'll be sure to update this list as more good ones are released. But remember, the books always matter more.


Bonus:

Arthur - this show, based on the books, has been on air for over 22 years and it's still game changing, educating, and entertaining. That aardvark will forever have a place in my heart.


7 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page