top of page

'90s Angst and Milkshakes


As I've said before, I don't like to follow the masses. When something is super popular, I have the tendency to let the hype die down before I'm even remotely interested. New songs, new clothes, new trends. I'm the last one to join the wave. Which is why even though I had heard about this film, I didn't actual watch it until I picked up the DVD from a Target bargain bin as an impulse buy. Well, I finished the movie before the night ended and bought the book the next day. With this one, the masses were actually on to something.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky


What Made Read This Book? Surprisingly, the movie. I am more often than not disappointed by book to movie adaptations because the movies more often do the books no justice. But this movie was so good that I knew the book had to be superb. Not surprisingly, it was. 


Sometimes, life is really hard. Especially when you're entering your freshman year of high school in the 1990s and your best (only) friend just killed himself. This is Charlie's life. Charlie's very lonely life. But to not be so lonely anymore, Charlie begins writing to a new friend. While this new friend may not actually exist, this friend does listen to all of Charlie's problems (and there are many). His new friend is there with him through all the trials, tribulations, and revelations of Charlie's 9th grade year (and there are many). As a wallflower, Charlie observes it all until a series of events thrust him into a position he never thought he'd be in. And thankfully, Charlie's friend is there every step of the way to recount every detail to the reader. 


My Rating: ✯✯✯✯✯ - No offense, but I wasn't the biggest '90s fan before this book. The '90s seemed dark and sad and grungy to me. But somehow, that worked for this book. The angst of the time and the angst of the writing balance so well that you feel like you've been transported to the era. From typewriters to cassette mixtapes, this novel tells the story of a time in the past but carries emotions very much relevant today. It may be set almost 30 years ago, but the gut-wrenching story of this book is timeless. Also, I can relate to being a wallflower.  


Why? Charlie is a lot to handle. This book is a lot to handle. From mental health to teen pregnancy, suicide to assault - this book should have a trigger warning stamped across the front. But it doesn't. Instead the simple cover makes the shocking, but subtle brutality of the story even more striking. Usually I prefer 1st-person stories, but the letter format of this novel builds an intimacy between Charlie and the reader which at times feels overwhelming - but in the best way. This book is a landmine for spoilers so I can't say much except that this book will make you cry. It isn't a happy novel and it isn't supposed to be. Its supposed to make you feel even if you don't want to (and there are plenty of times when you won't want to feel). You are right there with Charlie every agonizing step of the way, cheering when he makes you proud and screaming when he makes you cringe. Yes, this book is not for everyone. But those who can manage it will never be the same.

Favorite Quote: "I think that if I ever have kids, and they are upset, I won't tell them that people are starving in China or anything like that because it wouldn't change the fact they they were upset. And even if somebody else has it much worse, that doesn't really change the fact that you have what you have."

Hint for next week: Waffles

3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page