top of page

Faeries Still Aren't What You Think They Are


For Christmas 2016, the #1 item on my list was not a new phone. It was not a new computer or a new bag nor was it new shoes. The #1 item on my wish list was a new book. Specifically, the second book in a trilogy which I was completely in love with. Luckily, Santa Claus (also known as my mom) never lets me down.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

What Made Me Read This Book? After reading the first book in this series (reviewed in a previous blog post), I knew that I needed to continue this story to the very end. I will admit that there have been books where I read the 1st entry in a series, but could not force myself to finish the others. This case was entirely the opposite. Not only could I easily read the next book, but I could not force myself to close it even when the clock at times struck 4am. 


Having *barely* survived the events of A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury (abbreviated in the fandom as ACOTAR and ACOMAF) picks up where its predecessor left off - with the newly reborn Feyre trying to pick up the pieces of her life. Or what's left of it. Adjusting to a new body while trying to be the perfect bride-to-be leaves Feyre feeling trapped in a court which neither understands her nor attempts to assist her in understanding her new life. Dealing with depression and PTSD, Feyre is desperate and unknowingly calls for help from the one person she never thought she'd need. Now, whisked away to *another* new land, Feyre must determine not only what she wants to do with her second chance, but also who she wants to be. Being a human was hard. Being a faerie - harder. 


My Rating: ✯✯✯✯✯ - This novel is 624 pages long. I read it in 1 1/2 days. I skipped meals and sleep and I would do it all over again. 


Why? This book was breath-taking, tear-jerking, giggle-inducing, and heart-stopping. There were many times where I had to pause and re-read sentences just to comprehend what was happening because it was so entirely unexpected. There were also times when I needed to grab a pen and a highlighter to mark pages where I was confused, pleased, devastated, or *frequently* inspired. When Feyre is at her lowest, she receives a rescue from a man she never thought was capable of such an act. New sides of old characters and new characters in general are introduced, making the reader even more emotionally invested in the lives and futures of everyone the reader will come to meet. As a character, Feyre grows so much over the course of this story that the reader cannot help but be proud. As a heroine, Feyre accomplishes feats so demanding and dangerous that the reader cannot help but toss the book aside and applaud her bravery and fearlessness. I am intentionally avoiding specific details because this is a continuation novel and anything given away here could also spoil the first book. So my advice is that you pick up a copy of both A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury and read them both before the May 2nd release of the highly anticipated 3rd and final chapter of the trilogy, A Court of War and Ruin. Honestly, that title does absolutely nothing to ease my nerves nor my worries. 


Favorite Quote: "'To the people who look at the stars and wish, Rhys.' Rhys clinked his glass against mine. 'To the stars who listen-- and the dreams that are answered.'"

Hint for next week: Be careful where you leave your mail

2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page