top of page

"Happiness Shouldn't Be This Hard" - Adam Silvera

For my first official book review, I wanted to pick a book that meant a lot to me. A book that I could read repeatedly for the rest of my life and never get tired of. A book that filled me with joy and happiness while reading it. Ignoring that third one, I instead selected a book which absolutely destroyed me, leaving me sobbing for thirty minutes when I finally reached the last page at six in the morning after I had stayed up all night reading it. What book is it?

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

What Made Me Read This Book? 1) Adam Silvera is a genius writer and I'd read his grocery list if I could 2) I like pretty colors and the graffiti splattered cover certainly catches the eye

Set in the not so distant future, More Happy Than Not follows the story of Bronx native Aaron Soto and his misadventures in love and life during one very eventful summer. Reeling from personal tragedy after personal tragedy, the sixteen-year-old is searching for true happiness (aren't we all) with the help of his girlfriend Genevieve and a new buddy of his, the ever-eccentric Thomas. But, as the summer continues and the lines between friendship and something more begin to blur, Aaron believes that the only way to finally fix his life is to receive the new, mysterious memory altering treatment given by the Leteo Institute. What happens next is a series of events not easily forgotten by any reader.

My Rating: ✯✯✯✯✯ - If I could, I would erase this book from my memory just so that I could relive the experience of reading it for the first time; an experience I will never forget.

Why? Not many books have left me uncontrollably sobbing upon reaching the last sentence. Yes, some of those tears may have been due to exhaustion, but the majority came from feeling Aaron Soto like I had never felt a character before. His ups were my ups, his downs my downs too. I think everyone can relate to Aaron Soto. While most people probably have not faced exactly the same adversities that Soto has (by 16, this boy has been through enough trauma to last a lifetime and then some), people can relate to his wanting to erase certain memories in order to live a better, easier life. At least I can. It's Soto's vulnerability which feels most authentic. While the book is a mystery from beginning to end, Soto is open and candid - unsure of feelings that are present, wishing for feelings that are absent. Soto does not feel forced. He is not fictional perfection, but rather flawed and human to a fault. I wish I could say more, but this book is so full of twists and turns that any more description or explanation would inevitably lead to spoilers and that would be an absolute disservice to the reading experience.

Favorite Quote: "I would do my damn best to be more happy than not" 

Hint for next week: If you don't learn your history, you'll talk to dead people

11 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page