top of page

The (Not So) Best of Both Worlds


Unfortunately, I am a picky eater. Even more unfortunate, I am a picky reader as well. 

I love all books, from all genres, but for me to pick a book and really be invested in reading it, something about it has to catch my eye. Sometimes, something about it has to catch my eye multiple times before I finally decide to read it. That was the case with this novel. While it wasn't necessarily love at first sight, it was love at first sentence. 


The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie, with art by Ellen Forney 


What Made Me Read This Book? I think that the first time I saw this book was on an online list of the best YA books for (my apologizes, but I can't remember what the YA list was even about now). The second time I came across this book, it had been mentioned as a favorite by an author that I was reading at the time (I can't even remember what author). The third time I ran into this book, I was in Barnes & Noble (my home away from home) looking for a new book to read and it was on a table displaying books that the employees believed YA fans would enjoy. While the third time is usually the charm, I still did not buy the book that day. Instead, a few hours before my returning flight to Florence, I once again found myself in Barnes & Noble and decided to buy the book on an impulse. I had to make a quick decision because my mom was outside circling the block because there is absolutely no space for parking on a Friday in downtown Philadelphia. Luckily, I made the right decision. 


Junior, sometimes known as Arnold, has lived his entire life on the reservation. It hasn't been pleasant. The cards were stacked against him from the beginning. Born with several birth defects, Junior has spent his entire life fighting for normalcy and respect. Sadly, he's been losing the fight. But rather than staying down, he (after a violent, yet comical interaction with a teacher) decides to leave the Spokane Indian reservation, the only home he has ever known, and venture to the neighboring town to receive a better education - at an all-white school. To say that Junior experiences culture shock would be a bit of an understatement, especially considering that the only other Native American person in his new school is the mascot. (almost) Never the one to back down from a challenge, Junior must now deal with the difficulties of being rejected by a foreign community that does not want you and the heartbreak of being disowned by a community you once called home. Living a double life has never been harder, or more hilarious when the story is told by Junior. 


My Rating: ✯✯✯✯.5 - This book was more than just a book. It was a social commentary, a history lesson, a sports manual, and a comic book all rolled into one. While that description may sound like it would be an overwhelming read, it never was. The pace is perfect. Just fast enough to fight off boredom, but slow enough to make one really feel everything that Junior is going through. And there's a lot to feel. 


Why? The Native American experience in the United States is one that has been swept under the rug for far too long. When you think of Native Americans, what comes to mind? Pocahontas? The tale of a young Native American princess who falls in love with an English man and leaves her tribe to be with him in the sequel. Twilight? Where Native American men were nothing more than the characters of the C-plot in a twisted romance. Native American people do not receive the spotlight that they deserve in this world, but this book does its part to shed some light on the harsh reality Native people face everyday. While The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian is a YA novel, some parts are not for the feint of heart. It is violent. It is raw. It is disturbing. But most importantly, it is true. A truth far too many people live and far too few people acknowledge. Junior lives this life everyday and fights with all his strength (and then some) to build a better future for himself and his family. He risks it all to be better and his story is as uplifting as it is devastating, as funny as it is heart-wrenching. You will root for Junior from the first page to the last (and those cheers will accompany tears on more than one occasion). My only regret: that it took me 4 times seeing this book before I got the good sense to finally buy it. 


Favorite Quote: "'Are You Poor?" Possible Responses: 1) No. 2) Yes. 3) "Pore"? You mean, do I have pores? Yes, I have many. 4) Well... poverty is a relative thing... historical theoreticians believe that when you define a certain income as opposed to output, statistics are skewed... Allow me to digress... 5) Gasp! Look over there! Run away!"


Hint for next week: Blood has never been more important.

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page