top of page

Florence Feeds


Last week was Spring Break at my school. The entire campus was deserted with the exception of myself and a few other students. 



Honestly, it was probably the most relaxing week I've had here so far.   While I didn't travel outside of Italy, I did travel around Florence. Mostly looking for good food spots.  On Wednesday, I wan en route to Amorino for another gelato/macaroon combo, but the line was out of the door. While I like to believe that I possess a couple good qualities, I know that patience is not one of them. So I skipped the gelato and kept walking, soon running into a cute, quaint health shop. I wasn't wearing glasses and couldn't see the menu (written with white chalk on a blackboard, very hipster), so I just kinda pointed and whatever the barista assumed I was pointing at was my order. A fun game that I would not necessarily recommend (especially if you have allergies like I do). Luckily, it worked out. 

My prize of the mystery point-and-shrug game? A "Tropical Green" (I think that was the name) smoothie. Despite the color originally concerning me, the taste delighted me. I had a few issues with the lid popping off and spilling smoothie all over my hand, but after a few tries I got it back on. Kinda. In the bag is a honey croissant because I can only be so healthy.   On my way back to campus on Thursday, I walked past a place I've walked past many times sine my arrival in Florence, but for once I decided to stop and try it out. It's a little fry shop called Queen's Chips Amsterdam and I have always wanted to get some "chips" from there, but all the other times I was near the shop I was on my way somewhere else and didn't have time. On Thursday, I had an extra 10 minutes to spare before the bus arrived so I thought, "Why not?"


So a medium fry and house-made BBQ sauce (one of the many sauces they make in-house) was my dinner that evening.  Some days I'm healthy, but most days I'm not.   

1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page